Recipe : Frittata


Last week in a desperate state of trying to track ‘something’ down – turning out drawers & cupboards like a woman possessed, I happened upon a grease stained, dog eared piece of card. I began muttering to Charlie (dog) about why & how this disgusting piece of card had managed to find its way into my perfectly arranged cupboards of junk! That one sided conversation led to me forget what I was desperately searching for, but not disappointed. I felt compelled to investigate the piece of card further & to my delight I discovered a recipe, written with my own fair hands (must have been before my accident as the handwriting was crazily cursive) The recipe was for a frittata. A great lunch idea…just what I was looking for…and it could well have been, for all I remember!! 🙂

Ingredients (makes 6 decent size portions)
6 x eggs (large)
1/4 cup of milk
1 x onion peeled & cut into medium size chunks
1 x pepper (capsicum) cut into medium size chunks
6 – 8 button mushrooms cut in half
4 x broccoli florets cut into small to medium size pieces
1/2 small pumpkin cut in to medium size chunks (keep skin on)
200g strong cheddar cheese grated (optional)
Tblsp heaped of Dijon mustard (optional)
Black pepper & salt

Standard size bread tin or a 12″ Baking tin (non-stick)

Method
– Pre heat oven to 180 degs C
– Cook the pumpkin in boiling water, when soft, drain & cut off the skin
– Pan fry the onion; pepper; mushrooms; broccoli (you can cook broccoli in water separate, I prefer mine more al dante from pan frying, plus it is easier )
– Add salt & pepper to pan mixture
– Whisk eggs with milk & mustard
– Brush baking tin with some oil
– Place mixture in baking tin
– Sprinkle grated cheese over the cooked vegetables
– Pour over egg mixture
– Cook in oven for approx 25 minutes or until golden brown & the egg is firm to the touch

– Remove from oven & allow to cool before removing from tin.

Frittata is so versatile, you can add any vegetable / meat.  I prefer my frittata vegetarian.  TIP : make sure your ingredients are cut to medium size pieces. I made the mistake of slicing my onions finely (they sank to the bottom!) I also added sweetcorn kernels, again, they too sank to the bottom of the dish! 😦

You can see the onions & sweetcorn all nestled at the bottom of the frittata, which made removing from the tin a little difficult.

All in all, not a bad effort!  Very tasty & a substantial lunch for the next 5 days 🙂

8 comments

  1. That looks good! I will have to try that soon.

    Glad to see my dogs are not the only ones not to talk back. I was beginning to think it was something I did to them.

  2. Yummy! Love how it’s packed full of veg!
    Have a fab Wednesday xoxo
    http://www.intotheblonde.com/

  3. tickalongnice

    Looks yummy, will defo be trying this one!

  4. Resilient Heart

    Nicely done and great photos! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. INstead of the pumpkin, I substituted with kabocha squash…I got so full easy…but nice, simple recipe!

Leave a Reply

