Reblogged : Could This Be The Reason Traumatic Brain Injury Is Misdiagnosed and Untreated?


I am re-blogging this exceptional article which was written with total accuracy by  http://braininjuryselfrehabilitation.com.

Here is a snippet, please go to her website to read full article. You will be astounded at what you read.  It is not just in the USA, New Zealand is exactly the same as I am sure it is in most other countries.

The medical profession need better EDUCATION when it comes to head injuries. The lady that writes this, has first hand knowledge regarding the lack of understanding from healthcare professionals, healthcare protocol & Brain Injuries.

Could This Be The Reason Traumatic Brain Injury Is Misdiagnosed and Untreated?

What is the real reason traumatic brain injury is misdiagnosed, untreated or under treated?  Do we have enough rehabilitation centers in America to accommodate 1.7 million people every year?  Is this a national problem or local issue? I cannot believe they missed the most obvious of all … brain injury. I was the patient with all the issues…but the healthcare professionals still expect you have it all together to let them know what’s going on.  What one does know is most head injuries, strokes, and many diseases of the brain are not classic in any way.  The emergency room personnel look for only the classic obvious symptoms: one sided weakness, dropping of the facial muscles, slurred speech, and others.  These are not necessarily symptoms that appear with the 1.7 million traumatic brain injuries every year.

So I’m trying to figure out the most important education to be given to our healthcare providers.  Here is what I do know.  Only about one year before my TBI I attended a Brain Injury Conference in Newark, New Jersey.  I loved my career, enjoyed everything I was doing, worked full-time as a rehabilitation registered nurse specializing in brain injury and neurological conditions, research, community projects and others.  Attended the conference with hundreds of other professionals and disciplines.  I sat in attendance with all those professionals while the speaker who was describing her day dealing with a mild traumatic brain injury.  I listened intently, but as much as I am sad to say … I along with everyone in our group from various disciplines and facilities joked about their disbelief in the speaker’s symptoms.  The speaker, a traumatic brain injury survivor had such an array of symptoms I too found it unbelievable but I knew why I felt that way, and I did not share my feelings with anyone else.  Worse yet, I found all of my colleagues in disbelief.  They too may have been justified in how they felt, because we all have injuries to varying degrees in our life. No one shared any personal experiences, so I don’t know the answer. click here to read the rest of the article…

feature image source : billywatts.com
3 comments

  1. I was talking to my friend who is also a medical professional about diagnosing TBI. My injury was not diagnosed at the ER following my accident. I spent sevreal days home alone. When it finally was diagnosed, one pupil was larger than the other and cognitively I was a mess. Know how many days I spent in hospital? Zero. I was sent home alone again! Fortunately, at this point, several of my co-workers were worried about me and made it a point to check in with me daily. My friend, Carol, often had me over to her house after work.

    One thing that needs changed is the classification system. “Mild” TBi is a misnomer. There needs to be a protocol to follow suspected head injury patients at given times after the incident. Maybe after 2 days, then a week, then a month at the least. The classification should also take into account the presentation of the worst symptoms.

    Good article

    • Oh Lydia, I totally understand. You are right in how the classification needs to change. The medical professionals are simply not educated properly in an BI diagnosis. Unless you arrive at the ER unconscious & with major injuries, they appear to be clueless or simply follow the hospital protocol of fixing the main obvious injury. If you can communicate with the doctors regardless of any trauma to the head, they simply use the stock standard response of ‘you may have concussion, take it easy for a while’!!! aaaarrrghhhh.
      You, should NEVER have been sent home in the first place, but as they did send you home, you should never have allowed to be alone. Malpractice comes to mind.

      For me, the main concern for the medical team was my neck & spine, once they established nothing was broken, I was patched up & sent home. No thorough check to see if I was suffering from head trauma. From that day on, my symptoms came on like a tsunami. Same for you I am sure. Subsequent treatment & help has been unbelievably inadequate.

      Complacency with head trauma, seems to be growing & not just in the medical profession. A sea change is required, how that happens, I have no idea.

      I gain much comfort from the TBI survivors here in the blogging world, many of them are a few ears ahead in their recovery & the adaption to the new life that this injury brings. So, thank you for commenting Lydia, stay in touch & all the best in your ongoing recovery.

  2. I remember the day after I got my concussion I went into a walk-in clinic. The doctor there wrote me a note for school saying I would be better in 3 days. Well, here I am, over one year later, and still getting headaches. So from my own experience, I also believe there is an issue with education and awareness.

    That was an interesting article you had posted. I guess what popped into my head when I was reading that was: yes, there certainly is a need for greater understanding of the symptoms of a mTBI, but at the same time I think its hard to really understand until you experience it yourself. Before I got my concussion, I had team-mates who had concussions. I didn’t really know what they were going though or take the time to ask. I get it now. And, it also makes me wish I had been more supportive, because as part of the “brain injury minority group” I know how lonely and frustrating it can be.

Leave a Reply

