Recipe – A twist on meat & trois veg!


Fast, Fresh & Simple is back, & no, before you assume the worst, I am not describing me!  It is my weekly cook off challenge with the fabulous Donna Hay. Ms Hay & I are in symbiosis – maybe a little one sided…on my part!

A few weeks ago, I had a desperate craving for ‘iron’ – a juicy medium rare steak. The challenge I set myself was to cook a steak & not commit the ultimate steak sin…’death by cremation’! and as luck would have it, my culinary queen, Ms Donna Hay happened to be lazing around on my kitchen bench!  I began thumbing through the pages, Would it be fast? fresh? or simple? (the cook book is split into those categories, in case you were wondering) Then suddenly I had a light bulb moment…the index!  B for Beef or S for Steak?? Would you believe, she covers her steak dishes under both – just another reason why I like DH!  Having looked at the various beef recipes, there was only one that would satisfy my craving…

Steak & three veg (not your traditional version!) there is also a you tube video of her cooking this very dish 🙂

Ingredients
1 x 300g beef eye fillet steak
Sea salt & cracked black pepper
Aioli to serve
(I make my own – a large dollop of mayonnaise & a slightly smaller dollop of minced garlic, mixed together – et voila! keeps in the fridge for a wee while to)

Three Veg –
1 x large potato, peeled & sliced with a sharp & wide vegetable peeler
1 x sweet potato (kumara), peeled & sliced with a sharp & wide vegetable peeler
1 x parsnip, peeled & sliced with a sharp & wide vegetable peeler
50g butter, melted
1/2 cup (40g) finely grated parmesan
1 x tablespoon of thyme leaves
Sea salt & cracked black pepper

Method
Preheat oven to 200 deg C (400 deg F)
To make veg :
– place the sliced potato, sweet potato & parsnip into 3 seperate bowls.
– Divide the melted butter, parmesan, thyme, salt & pepper among the bowls & toss to combine.
– Line a baking tray with non stick baking paper (you may need 2 trays depending on size)
– Place each vegetable into 2 flat piles. (it is important to keep the piles as flat as possible to allow crisping)
– Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden crisp
While the vegetables are cooking, cook the beef :
– Heat a frying pan over a high heat
– Cook the beef for 3 minutes each side or until well browned
– Place on a non-stick baking tray & bake for 4 mins for rare / 7 – 8 mins for medium

To serve (leave beef to rest for 5 mins)
– Slice the beef in half & place on serving plates with the three veg. Serve with aioli in a seperate bowl.

Personally, I found this recipe to be one of the hardest I have tackled so far – it made me quite anxious throughout the whole process.  Mainly because of the energy & brain power required for slicing of the vegetables (it took me the best part of 20 mins to slice those damn veggies) & then the oven cooking time of the beef fillet, 4 minutes was to ‘blue’ for me so I settled on 7 minutes, although the beef may have only ‘cooked’ for 5 1/2 due to my constant door opening & prodding! regardless the end result happened to be delish, although an extra minute (without the door being opened) may have made it perfect…for me anyway!

Meat & three veg like you haven't tasted before!

…Artistically cremated veggies!! If it’s good enough for DH its good enough for me 🙂

3 comments

  1. Hello there!

    I happily nominate you for the Genuine Blogger Award!

    http://step-on-a-crack.com/2012/03/04/i-love-genuine-bloggers/

    Yes I do!

    Peace, Jen

  2. Oh Jen, this is wonderful, many many many thanks 🙂 my lovely & genuine friend xox

Leave a Reply

