A ZOOtastic day


I think this trip was day 3 or 4 of my visit to Sydney & one I had been looking forward to – a trip to the ZOO!  Yes sireee, I NEVER tire of seeing creatures, great & small, they bring immense happiness to my new ‘conundrum’ of a world 🙂 Sydney’s Taronga Zoo is an excellent example of what a zoo should be like.

The location is five star (nestled on a cliff top, over looking the harbour/city), you get to it either by ferry from the city’s CBD or by bus.  In my opinion the ferry trip is the BEST, its like a visual degustation, no matter where your eye leads you, there is a feast of architectural landmarks & scenery : Harbour Bridge (bridge climb – not my idea of a fun day out, but could be yours!),  Opera House (need I say more!),  Government House (houses the Governor of course!), breathtaking shoreline, CBD, Circular Quay (Fabulous restuarants & the docking terminal for posh cruise liners!), The Rocks (a funky & historical district, slap bang next to the CBD) & not forgetting Cockatoo Island (former prison/gaol for the thieving Brits – back in the day!!)

Come’on, why wouldn’t you take the ferry…I do & I have a fear of water!  and NO I am not one of those Brits, where you’ll find the family jewels under my bar of soap!! hee hee

FOCUS! As I was saying my trip to the ZOO with my friend ‘R’ who is a lifetime member (yay!) was just delightful, we arrived at first opening, map in hand & route pre-planned (love the TBI for this 🙂 ), camera unfortunately was low (very low) on battery (TBI frustration), we stayed for 2 – 3 hours which was more than enough time to see & paw over (pun intended!) our chosen furry & not so furry friends.

Here are some pictures (before camera died)

Ferry to zoo (inc. strange lady & CBD in background!)

Harbour Bridge & Cruiseliner (stationary, thank goodness!)

Opera House front / side view

Opera house - rear view

Cockatoo Island

A wee glimpse at some of the shoreline

Waterfront part of the Rocks

We have arrived!

Red Panda

Elephants

Gorillas

A zoo with a view!

Koala - snoozing, I'd sure like to master that pose for my afternoon nap!

Red Kangaroo - chilling!

Wallaby

Emu

Kookooloooooo! kookaburras enjoying a G&T at the Opera Bar!!

4 comments

  1. Love the narrative on this post!! Looks like you had a fab time
    Happy Wednesday xoxo
    http://www.intotheblonde.com/

Leave a Reply

