Picasso – Art Exhibition; Sydney, Australia


Picasso Exhibition

My second day in Sydney & I found myself at the Art Gallery NSW to view PICASSO’s works! (a part of Sydney International Art Series) My fabulous friend who I shall call ‘R’ decided to surprise me with tickets to see the Masterpieces from the Musee National Picasso, Paris.  This was undoubtedly one of the highlights of my trip.

As with many events that are held in & around Sydney, the Picasso Exhibition was no different, in the fact that it was incredibly accessible to ALL, which I can only say is another ‘plus’ point for this city / country!

On being handed our programs, we began our tour, aside of what I felt was poor curating (insufficient / poorly positioned lighting & artwork location), the exhibition, as a whole, did not disappoint. The number of people allowed into the exhibition at any one time was controlled exceptionally well, the wait times were minimal & there was virtually no requirement for any type of ushering. We spent close to a couple of hours musing over all the masterpieces.  By the end, however, I did feel rather overwhelmed, probably due to intense concentration, a glass vino & some migraine tablets were next on my agenda, before we continued on to view the rest of the gallery’s art!  I managed to take a couple of sneeky pics of 2 rather unusual but captivating pieces…not sure if the vino & tablets helped at his point!  Check them out…

I have scanned the program, hopefully my lack of technical skills do not let me or you down!

picasso booklet

7 comments

  1. Picasso informed the Blue Man Group!

    Beautiful piece. Is it by Picasso or in the museum?

    What a great day!

  2. Hi Jen, Yes I had a fabulous day. Unfortunately the blue man sculpture was not a Picasso, although he would have fitted in quite nicely in his exhibition! There were too many beedy eyes to be able to take pictures 😦

  3. hallo you. Just thought I’d let you know that you have been nominated for the Liebster award in my blog 😀 http://kellycautillo.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/liebster-blog-award-accepting-spreading-the-karma/

  4. A big ‘thank you’ Ms C 🙂

  5. Great blog! I’ll enjoy following where you lead!

Leave a Reply

