Recipe – garlic chickpeas & chorizo


This my blogging friends is what we had for dinner the other night. Wasn’t so sure how satisfying this would be or how I would manage not to burn the garlic! BUT I can confirm it was an absolute success on every level. I would even go as far as to say this dish would be one of the easiest & tastiest I have cooked since my accident.

Thank you Donna Hay, my culinary queen, for making me look like I know what I am doing!

Anyhow, here’s the recipe – you can always make this into a veggie dish, just swap the chorizo for veggie sausages & add chilli for the kick!

Serves 2 – garlic chickpea & chorizo (fast, fresh & simple)

Ingredients
3 chorizo sliced
4 cloves garlic sliced thinly
1 tablespoon shredded lemon zest
250g cherry tomatoes (I used my homegrown ones..yummy!)
1 x 400g can of chickpeas (garbanzo) drained
1/3 cup basil leaves
1 tablespoon lemon juice
finely grated parmesan to serve

Method
Heat non stick pan over a medium-high heat.
Add the chorizo (sliced) & cook for 3 minutes each side or until golden & crisp
Add the garlic & lemon zest & cook for 1 minute
Place tomatoes in a sieve & press to split, release some of the excess juice
Turn heat down to a low-medium heat
Add the tomatoes & chickpeas to the pan, cook for a further 3 minutes or until cooked through
Stir through the basil & lemon juice
Divide between bowls & sprinkle with grated parmesan

A good wine match would be a Pinot Noir, we are lucky here in NZ, having such a great selection on our doorstep. – plus it’s my favourite red 🙂

Garlic chickpeas & chorizo

ooops! I forgot to sprinkle the parmesan!!

As the Aussies would say….’SENSATIONALl’!!

2 comments

  1. Hi there! The Doods are just stopping by to say hello! 🙂

Leave a Reply

