Recipe – Warm white bean & tuna salad


Okay, I guess I am doing the ‘Julie & Julia’ type thing by attempting to cook my way through the Donna Hay Fast, Fresh & Simple cook book. It is a challenge but I thought my partner & I needed if only once a week, to eat something other than beans on toast…ok slight large exaggeration there, but something tastier than my usual bland made-up meals!

This cook book is particulary good for those who struggle with multi-tasking & keeping focus. I find cooking fish a good way to maintain focus, as in general it doesn’t take too long to cook, meaning I can stand over the pan for the whole time! Also a kitchen timer is my best friend….when I remember to use it!!!

Warm white bean & tuna salad was the chefs selection last Saturday – really easy to do & incredibily tasty.

Serves 2

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil (I use rice bran for general cooking)
2 cloves garlic crushed ( cheats option – pre crushed fresh garlic. I buy from local farmers market)
Pinch dried chilli flakes
1 tablespoon capers (I don’t like capers – I missed out as I didn’t know what I could substitute with)
1 x 400gm can white beans (cannellini or butter), drained & rinsed
1/2 cup flat leaf parsley leaves
2 x 150gm tuna fillets
extra olive oil for brushing
Sea salt & cracked pepper
1 tablespoon sumac
Lemon wedges to serve

Method
Heat fry pan over medium heat.
Add oil, garlic, chilli & capers, cook for 3 minutes
Add beans & cook for 4 minutes or until heated through. Set pan & ingredients aside
Brush tuna with olive oil both sides & sprinkle with salt & pepper.
Heat a seperate frypan over a high heat
Cook tuna 1-2 minutes each side – or until cooked to your liking. (I like mine seared)
Remove from pan & slice into 2

To serve
Stir parsley through bean mixture & divide onto plates
Top with the slices tuna
Sprinkle with sumac & add lemon wedges to plates
I added a piece of olive oil toasted ciabatta

YUMMO 🙂

ps – don’t forget the wine…uber important!

Leave a Reply

