Stuffed mushrooms recipe


Could this be what is for dinner tonight?…

I don’t know about you but I love mushrooms, their versatility is also appealing.  I decided to make stuffed mushrooms for last nights dinner, mine I kept as vegetarian but for my partner I added some salami.

They are super easy to make, you just need large flat mushrooms suitable for stuffing & any type of mixture to stuff with.  This is what is used:

Ingredients
4 x large flat portabello mushrooms
1 x large onion (chopped finely)
2 large cloves of garlic crushed
1 x large stick of celery
1 x medium green capsicum
A handful of mixed nuts / seeds roughly chopped
Approx 6 dried apricots & 6 dried figs roughly chopped
Chilli flakes to taste
A tablespoon dark soy sauce
I cup of quinoa
1 tin of puy lentils
4 thick slices of haloumi cheese

Lets make it…(I have to do each part in seperate stages as I cannot multi-task! you can obviously create as you desire)

step 1 – cook the quinoa (I use 1 cup of grain to 2 cups of water) Bring to boil & then simmer until water absorbed

step 2 – open can of lentils, drain & keep to one side

step 3 –
Sautee the onions, celery, capsicum & garlic in a large fry pan (I use rice bran oil)
Add the dried fruit & nuts/seeds to same pan and heat through – I cook my until they start to toast
Add chilli flakes
Add soy sauce & mix in
Add quinoa and stir through
Add lentils & stir through

This is what it will look like :

step 4 – Place mushrooms bottom side down on a baking sheet on an oven tray (all of less washing up!) drizzle with oil

step 5 (optional) – Place salami (or other cooked meat on top of mushrooms)

step 6 –  Top mushrooms with filling

step 7 – place in heated oven (200 degs) for approx 20 mins or until haloumi starts to brown

step 8 – voila! yummy stuffed mushrooms. Serve with salad.

I hope you enjoy them as much as we do 🙂

Leave a Reply

